Movement Detroit is Back in 2016 With Phase I Line-up Release

By | January 20, 2016
shareShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0


This morning Movement Electronic Music Festival Detroit unveiled its Phase I line-up to the world, confirming the leak that had made the rounds on the internet late last week. You can now enjoy our Movement Phase I playlist – 87 hours of music from artists on the line-up release!

Crowned by Kraftwerk‘s 3D Performance, the first ever from the German techno super-band at Hart Plaza, the roster features a good selection of house, deep house and Detroit techno representation. Highlights in the house genres include an Âme‘s debut with a DJ set, the return of Maceo Plex, Seth Troxler and Tale of Us and another debut by Chicago’s own The Black Madonna.

Source: Movement Detroit

Source: Movement Detroit

Other popular name representation comes from the likes of Get Real (Claude vonStroke b2b Green Velvet)Justin Martin and MK. You can expect acid house to be represented by the genre pioneer DJ Pierre – who is back for a solo performance after an incredible set as part of PHUTURE last year – and Nina Kraviz, who will be joined by others for the festival’s first ever Acid Stage showcase.

The city’s techno roots are well represented in this Phase I line-up. Movement pioneer Carl Craig leads the charge, with Eddie FowlkesJuan Atkins and Moritz van Ozwald performing as BorderlandKevin SaundersonStacey Pullen and of course, the ever-present Richie Hawtin.

Source: Movement Detroit

Source: Movement Detroit

While not lacking overall by any stretch of the imagination, we did notice a lack of techno names suitable for the usual programming of the festival’s Underground Stage. While Kyle Geiger and Andrei Morant will be making their Movement debuts, we can definitely further speculate that Project 313 will be joined by other members of the Modified Artists team come Memorial Day Weekend. They are likely to find themselves in the company of Chris Liebing, Matador (Live) and possibly both Scuba and Magda from today’s line-up release.

Movement’s strategy has always left space for eclectic performers that in 2015 included the likes of Disclosure, DJ Snoopadelic (Snoop Dog), Danny Brown and Dog Blood. In this Phase I, festival promoters Paxahau leave that representation to Caribou and Boys Noize, with more to be added in future releases.


Don’t forget to read our 2015 Movement review to ready yourself for Detroit. There’s more to Movement than the festival itself – explore the beauty of the city and the festival’s extensive list of day and after-parties to get the best out of your experience!

Full festival info and tickets, including payment plan, can be found on the Movement website. To learn more, stay connected with Movement through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

shareShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *